Anne’s School Days by Kallie George

This early-reader series of Anne of Green Gables chapter books by Kallie George is quickly becoming one of my favorite collections in my L.M. Montgomery bookcase. Yes, that’s right. I have one bookcase devoted to Anne of Green Gables, Emily of New Moon, The Blue Castle, and all the rest of Montgomery’s beautiful novels!

I waited for the newest installment, Anne’s School Days, ever since it was announced last year. And it did not disappoint. This is yet another sweet mini-story about Anne’s experiences at school, complete with beautiful illustrations by Abigail Halpin, and a storyline that will intrigue young readers. This time, we get to meet Gilbert Blythe and the rest of Avonlea school!

Book Description

Anne’s School Days is the third book in an early-reader series inspired by Anne of Green Gables, starring the spirited Anne Shirley as she navigates her first days of school and the incorrigible Gilbert Blythe.

Anne loves autumn in Avonlea, and she’s been enjoying her first three weeks of school. It helps that she walks to school with and sits next to her kindred spirit, Diana Barry. However, one day, Gilbert Blythe joins the class. According to Diana, he’s very handsome, and smart too. However, Gilbert immediately gets on Anne’s nerves. When he pulls on Anne’s braid and calls her “Carrots” because of her red hair, enough is enough. How can Anne enjoy school when Gilbert is ruining everything? Anne vows never to talk to Gilbert again, and even stops going to school for a time when her teacher forces Anne to sit next to her rival. But later, when Anne has an accident on the pond and her wooden plank sinks, who should come to her rescue but her nemesis, Gilbert Blythe?

Lovingly adapted by Kallie George with beautiful nostalgic illustrations by Abigail Halpin, this series is perfect for fans of Anne, new and old.

Order Anne’s School Days:

About the Author

KALLIE GEORGE is an author, editor and creative writing teacher. She has written numerous books for early readers, including Anne Arrives (book 1), Anne’s Kindred Spirits (book 2), The Magical Animal Adoption Agency series, The Heartwood Hotel series and The Wings of Olympus series, as well as numerous picture books, such as Goodnight, Anne, If I Couldn’t Be Anne, Secrets I Know and The Lost Gift.

Kallie received her Masters of Children’s Literature from the University of British Columbia. She loves picture books, fairy tales, beautiful art and music, and baking cookies. Kallie currently lives in Vancouver, BC, and feels positively certain she and Anne Shirley are kindred spirits. You can follow her online here.

Let’s keep in touch:

Subscribe to my blog
for articles on literature, faith, and my writing adventures!

Book Orders:

Order signed books here on my web site!
Each autographed book comes with a matching bookmark.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *